Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

University of Tennessee Genome Science & Technology

Frequently Used Tools:



Welcome! » Faculty & Staff


Faculty & Staff

Featured New Faculty
Picture Name / Affiliation Research Area / Keywords Email
Barrera, Francisco
UTK
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Interplay between proteins and lipids, pHLIP peptides, microRNAs, ErbB2 receptors, transmembrane helical bundles
fbarrera@utk.edu
Bembenek, Josh
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Vesicle Trafficking during Cell Division, Core Cell Cycle Genes, Separase, C.Elegans embryo
bembenek@utk.edu
Cheng, Xiaolin
ORNL
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Electrostatic calculation, Cellulase complex, petascale computing, LAMMPS, allosteric mechanisms in nAChR
chengx@ornl.gov
Das, Maitreyi
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Rho GTPase, Cdc42, GAPs (GTPase activating protein), cellular shapes and form esabllishment
mdas@utk.edu
Jacobson, Daniel
ORNL
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Genomics, Phylogenomics, Transciptomics, Proteomics, Metabolomics, Chemiomics, Microbiomics, Meta-omics, Fieldomics data analysis and integration. Genome Wide Association Studies, Evolutionary Models, Theory of Sampling, Nextgen Sequence Analysis, Network Theory, Multivariate Statistics, Machine Learning, Visualization, High Performance Computing
jacobsonda@ornl.gov
Jonsson, Colleen
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
hantavirus, infectious diseases, imaging, zoonosis, RNA viruses, negative strand RNA viruses, influenza virus, Venezuelen equine encephalitis virus, ecology and evolution of infectious diseases
cjonsson@utk.edu
Lebeis, Sarah
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
metagenomics, nutrient acquisition, Arabidopsis thaliana, microbial taxa
slebeis@utk.edu
Parks, Jerry
ORNL
Computational Molecular Biophysics
Bioinorganic chemistry of mercury, sulfur, and cobalt, Enzyme mechanisms and biochemical pathways, Bioenergy
parksjm@ornl.gov
Ripp, Steven
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
recombinant bacterial and bacteriophage bioreporter strains for the detection and monitoring of foodborne pathogens, biological toxicants, environmental pollutants, environmental stressor mechanisms, and as components of bio-microelectronic computer processing systems.
saripp@ibme.utk.edu
Staton, Meg
UTK
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
hardwood genome sequences, differential gene expression profiles, DNA markers, QTL maps and physical maps
mstaton1@utk.edu
Yang, Xiaohan
ORNL
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Synthetic Biology, Genomics of Crassulacean Acid Metabolism Plants, small signaling proteins, recalcitrance of biomass for biofuel production
Xiaohan Yang


Core Faculty
Picture Name / Affiliation Research Area / Keywords Email
Alexandre, Gladys
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Chemotaxis signal transduction; microbial physiology
galexan2@utk.edu
Baek, Seung J.
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Cancer chemoprevention, TGF-beta, transcription regulation, molecular pharmacology, gene regulation, inflammation, obesity
sbaek2@utk.edu
Baudry, Jerome
UTK / ORNL
Computational Molecular Biophysics
Molecular modeling, computational chemistry, molecular biophysics, computational biology, molecular dynamics, drug discovery, drug design, structure function relationships.
jbaudry@utk.edu
Becker, Jeff
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Peptides, hormones, pheromones, membrane transport, receptors, fungal virulence, yeast, signal transduction
jbecker@utk.edu
Berry, Michael
UTK
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Text and Data Mining, Information Retrieval, Parallel and Numerical Algorithms, Computational Science
mberry@utk.edu
Berthelier, Valerie
UT Medical Center
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Protein aggregation, amyloid and amyloid-like fibrils, polyglutamine, polyalanine, serpins, high-throughput screening, inhibitors, chemical compounds
vberthel@mc.utmck.edu
Binder, Brad
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Ethylene signaling in Arabidopsis
bbinder@utk.edu
Brown, Steve
ORNL
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Envrionment
Functional Genomics and microbial Physiology
brownsd@ornl.gov
Bruce, Barry
UTK
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Protein transport, membrane biogenesis, organelle evolution, photosynthesis
bbruce@utk.edu
Buchan, Alison
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Marine Bacteria, Genomics, Community Structure and Interactions
abuchan@utk.edu
Burch-Smith, Tessa
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Intercellular transport between plant cells, plasmodesmata development, function and structures, Chloroplast gene expression
tburchsm@utk.edu
Cekanova, Maria
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Evaluation of new PET and fluorescent imaging tracers for detection of cancer, Investigation of a novel application of neutron imaging techniques, Isolation and characterization of canine primary cancer cell lines, Study the effects of doxorubicin and its derivates in drug resistant lymphomas in dogs in vitro and in vivo, Role of canine mesenchymal stem cells for the treatment of osteoarthritis
mcekanov@utk.edu
Chen, Feng
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Plant secondary metabolism
fengc@utk.edu
Doktycz, Mitch
ORNL
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Bionanotechnology, microfluidics, biological interfaces, imaging, scanning probe microscopy, cell mimics, biomineralization
doktyczmj@ornl.gov
Fozo, Elizabeth
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Regulatory RNAs; sRNAs; genetics; bacterial stress responses; bacterial pathogenesis.
efozo@utk.edu
Fridman, Tamah
JICS-UTK / ORNL
Computational Molecular Biophysics
Modeling, algorithm, protein structure, kinetics, dynamics, mass spectrometry
tfridman@utk.edu
Ganusov, Vitaly
UTK
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Mathematical and computational biology, within-host dynamics of pathogens, immune response, T cell responses to intracellular pathogens, evolution of virulence of pathogens
vitaly@utk.edu
Gilchrist, Mike
UTK
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Codon, synonymous codons, gene, protein translation, gene fixation, ribosome movement, immunocoprecipitation datasets, model, nested models, genetics model, mathematical models
mikeg@utk.edu
Guo, Hong
UTK
Computational Molecular Biophysics
Mechanisms of enzyme-catalyzed reactions, inhibitor binding processes by use of state-of-the art computational approaches
hguo1@utk.edu
Hanning, Irene
UTK/ORNL
Food science, Campylobacter jejuni, Whole chicken carcasses, Comparative genomics, Agricultural microbiome. ihanning@utk.edu
Hazen, Terry
UTK/ORNL
Ecogenomics, Bioremediation, Extreme environments, Bioenergy, Climate and Carbon tchazen@utk.edu
Hettich, Robert
ORNL
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Envrionment
Proteomics, Mass Spectrometry, Microbial Community
hettichrl@ornl.gov
Hewezi, Tarek
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
cyst and root-knot nematode effectors,epigenetic regulation, growth and defense signaling
thewezi@utk.edu
Howell, Liz
UTK
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Structure, function, assembly & folding of dihydrofolate reductase; comparison of chromosomal and R-plasmid forms
lzh@utk.edu
Jouline, Igor
UTK / ORNL
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Signal transduction in prokaryotes; novel computational approaches in genomics
joulineib@ornl.gov
Jurat-Fuentes, Juan Luis
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Characterization of Cry toxin mode of action, Resistance to Cry toxins, Identification of insect cellulases for biofuels, Stem cell-mediated insect gut regeneration
jurat@utk.edu
Kania, Stephen
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Host-pathogen interactions, PCR based avian and mammalian sex determination, Immune responses, genetic basis of antibiotic resistance, flow cytometry
skania@ibme.utk.edu
Lamour, Kurt
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Pathology, Phytophthora, SNP, epidemiology, oomycetes
klamour@utk.edu
Langston, Mike
UTK
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Computational genomics, discrete optimization, graph algorithms, high-performance platforms, genome-scale implementations, microarray analysis, pathway homology, regulatory network analysis.
langston@cs.utk.edu
Loeffler, Frank
UTK
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Envrionment
Environmental microbiology, microbial ecology, bioreremdiation, microbial physiology & biochemistry, degradation pathways, enzymology, omics approaches, horizontal gene transfer, novel microbes
frank.loeffler@utk.edu
Mannik, Jaan
UTK
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Biophysics, self-organizing processes, cell division, nanotechnology, microfluidics.
JMannik@utk.edu
McKee, Bruce
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Genetics of chromosome pairing & recombination; sperm development, and chromosome structure
bdmckee@utk.edu
Morrell-Falvey, Jennifer
ORNL
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Envrionment
Biological imaging
morrelljl1@ornl.gov
O'Meara, Brian
UTK
Bioinformatics & Computational Biology
Phylogenetics, trait evolution, supermatrices, piscivory limits
bomeara@utk.edu
Pan, Chongle
ORNL
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Computational biology, proteomics, genome annotation, metagenomics, microbiology.
panc@ornl.gov
Podar, Mircea
ORNL
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Microbial metagenomics and single cell genomics, human microbiota in health and disease, evolutionary genomics, microbial ecology and interspecies interactions, Nanoarchaeota, hyperthermophiles, cultivation of “unculturable” microbes
podarm@ornl.gov
Reynolds, Todd
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Biofilm, yeast, Candida albicans, fungal pathogenesis, cell wall, phospholipids, protein trafficking
treynol6@utk.edu
Roberts, Dan
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Calcium signaling mechanisms in plant cells; structure and function of calmodulin and calcium dependent protein kinases; membrane protein structure and function; aquaporins
drobert2@utk.edu
Rouse, Barry
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Viral Immunology and Immunopathology, Herpes Simplex Virus (HSV), Corneal Neovascularization
btr@utk.edu
Schadt, Chris
ORNL
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Envrionment
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Environment
schadtcw@ornl.gov
Serpersu, Engin
UTK
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Structure/Function of biological molecules, Antibiotic resistance, Drug/inhibitor design
serpersu@utk.edu
Shen, Tongye
UTK
Computational Molecular Biophysics
Protein Post-translational Modifications. Biofuel & Biomass conversion. Structural Stability of Biomolecules and Assemblies. Computational and Theoretical Biology
tshen@utk.edu
Shpak, Elena
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Signal transduction, receptor kinases, organ size regulation, plant growth and development, Arabidopsis
eshpak@utk.edu
Smith, Jeremy
ORNL
Computational Molecular Biophysics
Modeling and simulation of biomolecules; High-performance computer simulations of biologically relevant systems; Neutron scattering in biology; Structure-function relationship of macromolecules; Bioenergetics
smithjc@ornl.gov
Sparer, Tim
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Chemokines, cytomegaloviruses, HCMV, immunology, herpesviruses, cell trafficking
tsparer@utk.edu
Stewart, Neal
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Transgenic plants, introgression, functional genomics, environmental sensing, plant-insect interactions, plant-pathogen interactions, biophotonics, phytoremediation, bio/ag security
nealstewart@utk.edu
Trigiano, Robert
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Genetic Diversity and Population Biology of Downy Mildew Organisms, Genetic Diversity and Breeding of Ornamental Plants, Molecular Markers, Tissue Culture
rtrigian@utk.edu
Ussery, Dave
ORNL
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Comparative Genomics; Pan- and Core-genomes; Bacterial Genomics; E. coli, Salmonella, Vibrio, Pseudomonas, Campylobacter, Burkholderia and Mycobacterium
usserydw@ornl.gov
VonArnim, Albrecht
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Cell and developmental biology of Arabidopsis, Responses to the light environment, Translational control, Bioluminescence technology.
vonarnim@utk.edu
Voy, Brynn
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Microarrays; gene expression, hair loss; obesity and diabetes; skin
voybh@ornl.gov
Wang, Robert
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Oncogenes, Signal Transduction, Cellular Transformation, Apoptosis, Cell Quiescence, Cancer, Anticancer
hcrwang@utk.edu


Affiliated Faculty
Picture Name / Affiliation Research Area / Keywords Email
Agarwal, Pratul
ORNL
Computational Molecular Biophysics
Role of Cyclophilins in Retrovirial Infection, Understanding the interconnection between protein structure-dynamics-function, Characterizing biomolecular dynamics with neutron scattering, Molecular dynamics on heterogeneous architectures (including GPUs), Application driven Fault-tolerance on Extreme-scale Architectures, Open Source Software for Scientific computations
agarwalpk@ornl.gov
Chen, Guoxun
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Metabolism, insulin, glucose, lipid, vitamin A, transcription regulation, liver, obesity, diabetes, nuclear receptor, signal transduction.
gchen6@utk.edu
Fernandez, Elias
UTK
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
X-ray crystallography, signal transduction, nuclear receptor, transcription, G protein, pharmacology
elias.fernandez@utk.edu
Ganguly, Ranjan
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Gene structure, Gene regulation, Cis-regulatory elements, Trans-regulatory factors, Cytochrome P450 genes, Insecticide resistance, Drosophila genetics, DNA microarray
rganguly@utk.edu
Graham, David E.
ORNL
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Microbiology, metabolic biochemistry, biofuels, analytical biochemistry, enzymology, biosynthesis, molecular evolution, comparative genomics
grahamde@ornl.gov
Hurst, Greg
ORNL
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Envrionment
Mass spectrometry, analytical chemistry, MALDI, proteins, DNA
hurstgb@ornl.gov
Jain, Nitin
UTK
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Structure-function relationship, endotoxins, microbial pathogens, host-cell responce, CD14, NMR, electron transfer, cytochromes, heme.
njain@utk.edu
Myles, Dean
ORNL
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Structural biology, protein crystallography, neutron scattering & diffraction, and bio-deuteration
mylesda@ornl.gov
Nebenfuhr, Andreas
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Intracellular motility, myosin, protein targeting, secretion, Golgi apparatus, image analysis
nebenfuehr@utk.edu
Park, Jae
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Neurogenetics of biological rhythms and behavior; neurodevelopment in Drosophila
jhpark@utk.edu
Pelletier, Dale
ORNL
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Genomics, proteomics, bacterial physiology, methods of isolation/characterization of protein complexes, anaerobic metabolism of aromatic compounds
pelletierda@ornl.gov
Prosser, Rebecca
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Circadian rhythms; suprachiasmatic nucleus; brain slice; serotonin; glutamate; brain-derived neurotrophic factor; tissue plasminogen activator; BDNF; tPA; ethanol; PSA-NCAM
rprosser@utk.edu
Chen, Guoxun
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Metabolism, insulin, glucose, lipid, vitamin A, transcription regulation, liver, obesity, diabetes, nuclear receptor, signal transduction.
gchen6@utk.edu
Tschaplinski, Tim
ORNL
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Envrionment
Biochemical basis of drought tolerance of deciduous tree species, Water relations and production physiology of Populus, Direct and indirect effects of elevated C02 on plant C and N metabolism, Auxin regulation of branching in Populus, Metabolomics of Populus
tschaplinstj@ornl.gov
Wall, Jonathan
UT Medical Center
Structural and Nanoscale Biology
Amyloid-Associated Disorders, Cancer, Atherosclerosis, Diagnostic Veterinary Imaging
jwall@mc.utmck.edu
Wilhelm, Steve
UTK
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Molecular biology & functional genomics, marine & freshwater viruses, aquatic biogeochemistry, toxic cyanobacterial blooms, oceanography, carbon cycling
wilhelm@utk.edu
Wimalasena, Jay
UT Medical Center
Molecular Genetics and Systems Biology
Breast and Ovarian Cancer, Cell Cycle, CDK, Cyclins, CDK Inhibitors, Apoptosis, Signal Transduction
jwimalas@utk.edu
Wullschleger, Stan
ORNL
Analytical Technologies for Bioenergy and the Envrionment
Respiration, environment, carbon cycle, genetics, ecology
wullschlegsd@ornl.gov


GST Staff
Picture Name / Affiliation Telephone Email
Gray, Roger
GST
865-974-9561 rgray17@utk.edu
Yeatts, Terrie
GST
865-974-1531 tyeatts@utk.edu